Welsh Media Course Shortlisted for Top Award

Aberystwyth University’s Advanced Media Production course has been shortlisted for the Knowledge Exchange/Transfer Initiative of the Year at this year’s ‘THE Awards’.

‘THE Awards’ are widely recognised as the Oscars of higher education, each year attracting hundreds of entries that exemplify the talent, dedication and innovation of individuals and teams across all aspects of university life, showing countless reasons why our institutions continue to prosper.

Advanced Media Production is a unique scheme bringing together Aberystwyth University’s Departments of Computer Science and Theatre, Film & Television Studies and has focused on upskilling the creative industries in Wales throughout the Covid-19 pandemic.

To date, more than 160 employees have enrolled and Professor Anwen Jones, Aberystwyth University’s Pro Vice-Chancellor for the faculty of Arts and Social Sciences is delighted with its success,

“I am fully aware of the immense effort that went into establishing the Advanced Media Production MSc, especially during such a challenging period, and being shortlisted for this prestigious award is very exciting”.

“Organisations and media companies identified a need to upskill their workforce to meet a growing demand for creative digital content across all platforms. Aberystwyth University was able to respond quickly to their needs with this unique multi-disciplinary scheme aimed at enhancing industry innovation and productivity in the creative industries through knowledge exchange.”

Supported by the European Social Fund through the Welsh Government, all modules on the course were made available flexibly and free to eligible organisations and the self-employed working in the creative industries sector in Wales.

Professor Jones added; “The Covid-19 pandemic has thrown the benefits of digital creation and communication into sharp relief. As the world went into lockdown, we became increasingly reliant on our digital devices both for work and social purposes, a trend that may well continue.”

The winners will be revealed at an in-person ceremony in London on 25 November 2021.

Share your thoughts